Lucena in the ground-breaking government of 1898

When the Philippine Trend broke out in1896, the Katipuneros inside the province of Tayabas weren't able to quickly rally the people to their cause. This partly explains for what reason Tayabas was not one of the eight rays of the sun in the Filipino flag that symbolize the initially eight zone that required arms against Spain. Back in the 1896 the brand new spirit began to spread in Tayabas. The people of Lucena, under Jorge Zaballero, the Kapitan city and county, supported the revolution. The scene of battle was at the capital city of Tayabas, particularly the church proper where the Spanish troops took sanctuary. On June 12, 1898, General Emilio Aguinaldo proclaimed the independence of the Republic of the Philippines, and on the advice of Apolinario Mabini, Gen. Aguinaldo issued two decrees on June 18 and on 06 20 rendering for the organization of community governments. Manuel Arguelles was appointed commissioner of the region of Tayabas. The Rule of June, 1898, drew up by Apolinario Mabini, the " Minds of the Revolution”, provided for the reorganization of local government in those zone already free of Spanish control. Made electors were individuals inhabitants who had been prominent for his or her high persona and interpersonal position. That they constitute the principalia. These electors would be to elect the town chief, the headman for every barrio, and three delegates, namely, the delegate pertaining to police and internal buy, the assign for rights and city registry, and the delegate to get taxes and property. The town chief, the headman with the barrios plus the three delegates constituted the most popular Assembly. The town chief was going to act as director of the assemblage, with the headman of the localidad as vice-president, and the assign for justice and civil registry since secretary. The main of the neighborhoods, in discussion with their particular popular assemblies, elected the provincial primary and three councillors. The provincial primary, the chief in the capital from the province, and the three councillors constituted the Provincial Authorities, whose key duty was to propose steps for the typical welfare of the inhabitants from the province. The decree likewise provided following the election of delegates by each province who would amount to the Revolutionary Our elected representatives. These delegates were to be elected by the main of the cities. In order to protected maximum performance in the execution of the rules regarding the keeping of elections, the decree provided for the appointment of your commissioner with the Central Govt for each region. The military commanders who also liberated any town from the Spaniards started to be automatically committee " by virtue of their business office. ” General Miguel Malvar as the alter ego of General Emilio Aguinaldo in Southern Luzon, appointed Manuel Arguelles because Commissioner pertaining to Tayabas. Office Arguelles assembled the principalia of Lucena.


September 26, 1898. The seventy five members in the electoral human body assembled inside the parish convent of Lucena and elected the following officials: PresidentGregorio Marquez

Vice-PresidentJose Barcelona

Barrio Chiefs

1 . CottaFlaviano Allarey

2 . DumacaaVicente JarviГ±a

(later started to be Barra, Dalahican & Talao-talao)

3. Ibabang MayaoPedro Abrigo

4. Kanlurang MayaoSilvestre Lopez

5. Silangang MayaoMariano Llarena

6. Ibabang DupayDaniel Marquez

7. Ilayang DupayHermogenes LabaГ±ego

8. Gulang-gulangDomingo Zaballero

on the lookout for. DomoitSeverino Jalbuena

10. BocohanJustiniano Lavarez

10. Kanluran IsabangJorge Zaballero

12. Silangang IsabangFroilan Lopez

13. Kanlurang IyamFlorentino Zaballero

14. Silangang IyamVenancio Queblar

15. Ilayang TalimTomas Evarle

18. Guitnang TalimFelomeno Evarle

18. Ibabang TalimAmbrocio Zaballero

Law enforcement officials and Inner OrderFeliciano Enriquez

Justice and Civil RegistryAnastacio Barcelona

Taxation and PropertyMarcelino Villafuerte

Anastacio Barcelona decreased the...